What Happens If I Get a DUI? First Offense
What happens if I get a DUI?
1 st DUI Offense Penalties & Punishments
Jail • 2 days to 6 months • Typically a good DUI attorney can get the jail time converted to some form of community service.
Probation • 3 to 5 years of Court Probation • This means no probation officer to report to, but absolutely no drinking and driving during that time period.
Fines & Fees • A fine, including court fees costs $1400 to $2000 • This can be paid over time for an additional charge, or in full. In some courts people can work off part of the fine through community service.
Driver License • 6 month loss of California Driver License • As of September 2004, it will be up to the Department of Motor Vehicles to decide if a restricted California Driver License should be issued. A suspension means absolutely no driving; a restriction allows driving to and from work or school.
DUI School • Depending on your Blood Alcohol Level DUI school may be as low as 12 hours or as much as 9 months. This may be dependant on your attorney as well. The California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs maintains a list of DUI Schools
Leave a Comment