Jones Law | DUI & Criminal Defense | Fresno, CA

Blog

01 Nov

WILL I GO TO JAIL FOR A FIRST-TIME DUI?

Posted by David Jones on Nov 01, 2016

0 Comments

Facing a driving under the influence (DUI) charge is difficult, especially when your freedom is on the line.

 If you arrested for a DUI offense, you probably have a lot of questions.

Will I go to jail?

Do I need an attorney?

What happens now?

These are important questions that need to be answered and a DUI defense lawyer can help you find the answers, more importantly, they can help you determine exactly what steps you need to take to minimize, if not eliminate the potential risks involved in being convicted of DUI.

 California Law for First-Time DUI Convictions

According to California law, the penalties for a first-offense DUI (misdemeanor), may be punishable by:

  • Fines
  • Up to Six Months in Jail
  • Informal Probation
  • DUI Alcohol Education Program
  • Driver's License Suspension
  • Vehicle Impoundment

 How to Avoid Jail for a First-Time Drunk Driving Conviction

If you are convicted of DUI, you may be subject to jail. Jail time, however, is not mandatory. With the help of a skilled DUI defense lawyer, you can avoid jail or a conviction altogether.

To learn more about your legal options after a drunk driving arrest, call our office today.

David Jones

David E. Jones is a Central Valley area DUI and criminal defense attorney who represents those accused of DUI and other crimes in both state and federal court. Mr. Jones has practiced criminal law throughout Fresno, Madera, Kings and Tulare counties since 1996. Mr. Jones was a Deputy District Attorney for Fresno County 12 years and has been an instructor for the Police Academy for over 10 years. He is an experienced and respected trial attorney.

Leave a Comment

Top